Home Page

Lincoln County was created by the Wisconsin Legislature on March 4, 1874, with a population of 895, and land area of 2,750,000 acres. At that time Lincoln County included most of present day Oneida and Vilas Counties, as well as parts of present day Langlade, Taylor, Price and Iron Counties. Lincoln County reached its present size in 1885.

The early progress of Lincoln County is synonymous with the growth of the logging industry. The pines and virgin hardwood forests attracted loggers from far and wide. As operations grew, settlements sprang up bringing the need for stores and other business places. In clearing the forest, the lumbermen were opening the way for the farmer.

Read More

ATV trail bridge closing.
The bridge between Phalzgraff Road and County Highway T in the Town of Somo is temporarily closed due to a wash out.

Check back for further updates.
Applications for District 4 (City of Merrill/Wards 8, 9 & 10) representation on the Board of Supervisors are being accepted.
The project is construction, termination and testing of fiber-optic service to six (6) locations in the City of Merrill. The main route of fiber construction will begin at the Lincoln County Service Center and end at the Merrill City Hall and the Lincoln County Safety Building. Lateral fiber will include routes to Festival Grounds, Lincoln County Highway Department, and to the intersection of E. First St. & Center Ave.
View All Announcements »

Jan. 1, 2017 - Jan. 3, 2018
2017 Holiday Schedule
June 22, 2017 - 6:00 pm
Board of Health Committee Meeting - Lincoln County Service Center
801 N Sales Street, Room 247/248
Merrill, WI 54452
June 28, 2017 - 5:30 pm
Solid Waste Committee Meeting - Landfill Office
N4750 Landfill Lane
Merrill, WI 54452
View All Events »
Legal Notice  |  Privacy Notice  |  Acceptable Use Policy  |  Linking Policy
Copyright © 2017 Lincoln County Government - Merrill Wisconsin
Designed & Powered By   DMI Studios